High Five

Special Programs

Maria Waskin, Director Pupil Personnel Services

Maria Waskin
Director, Pupil Personnel Services
760.944.4300, x1131
FAX 760.942.9471

Pupil Personnel Services and Special Education

Special education in Encinitas is located within the Pupil Personnel Department. Our district offers a continuum of special education services in the least restrictive environment to students from preschool through sixth grade who have been identified through the IEP (Individualized Education Plan) process as eligible for special education. All school sites offer a full complement of designated instructional services including speech and language therapy, occupational therapy, adaptive physical education, physical therapy, deaf and hard of hearing itinerant services, itinerant vision services, and more for students identified as requiring these services through the IEP process.

All school sites offer Learning Resource Centers (LRCs). Our LRCs are staffed with one or more educational specialists and several instructional assistants, offering both push-in services (services provided in the general education setting) and pull-out services (services provided within the special education settings) based on each child’s IEP. Additionally, the district offers Special Day Classes (SDCs) at Mission Estancia, Olivenhain Pioneer and La Costa Heights schools and the Personal Development and Learning (PDL) program at Park Dale Lane. These programs support students with more intensive academic or self-regulatory needs. Our Early Childhood Program is offered on the Flora Vista campus providing services to our students ages 3 – 5.

Students have access to a variety of technology resources in the district through our 1:1 Digital Learning Program initiative and 21st Century classroom initiative. Assistive technology specifically determined to meet unique student needs is also available via the IEP process.

Parents are a vital part of our community and we welcome your active participation. We maintain a Community Advisory Committee (CAC) with parent and staff representation. The CAC hosts a number of parent gatherings during the school year, including both social gatherings and topical workshops. Please visit our links on the left side of this welcome message for more information.

Thank you for visiting our site. If you have further questions, I can be reached at 760.944.4300, x1131.​

Maria Waskin
Director, Pupil Personnel Services​​

Department Directory: 760.944.4300
Pupil Personnel and Special Education Services

Department Extensions

Name Position Extension Email
Maria Waskin Director, Pupil Personnel

1131 maria.waskin@eusd.net
Elaine Reilly Administrative Secretary 1131 elaine.reilly@eusd.net
Jamie Salter NCCSE Program Specialist 1125 jamie.salter@eusd.net
Kim Sleichter Autism Specialist 1220 kim.sleichter@eusd.nett
Kristine Garcia Behavior Teacher XXXX kristine.garcia@eusd.net
Ronnie Kraft EUSD Program Specialist 1125 ronnie.kraft@eusd.net
​Sue Liesegang Mental Health ​TOSA 1176 sue.liesegang@eusd.net
Tami Wilson Pupil Personnel Services Program Assistant 1145 tami.wilson@eusd.net