Students using iPads

Information Technology

Information Technology

Welcome, and thank you for visiting the Information Technology page of the Encinitas Union School District website. We strive to provide the best in technology related resources, tools, and services to augment the teaching and learning experiences of our students. Enhancing instruction is our goal, and engaging the hearts and minds of our children and teachers by utilizing a broad scope of technology resources is paramount to that goal.

We currently support over 6,000 computing devices across 11 sites in classrooms, labs, media centers, libraries and offices. Information Technology isn’t just about computers, as we also support approximately 700 wireless access points, switches, 325 networked printers, projectors, document cameras, tablets, phones, and countless other digital devices. The Information Technology department also maintains the system infrastructure needed to support the entire district. This includes our communications infrastructure (telecommunications, emergency broadcasts, voice over IP systems), inventory management, data management (backup, restoration, redundancy), virtual-machine servers, software, Internet and Intranet services, system security and content filtering. With 5600+ iPads already in the hands of students, our 1-to-1 computing devices-to-students initiative has been realized. Working hand-in-hand with Educational Services, the dynamic engagement approach that utilizing technology allows at an individual level, provides a unique experience that caters to every child’s learning needs, and goes beyond a one-size-fits all mindset with our approach to education. It is amazing to witness students learning fundamentals as they sit side-by-side via a digital curriculum that can adapt on-the-fly to their unique pace and learning style, providing them insight, opportunities, and greater accessibility to information, as well as in-depth progress reports to instructors that would have been considered nothing short of science-fiction only years ago. We pride ourselves on taking part in the impact that we are making in preparing these young minds of tomorrow.

We are committed to always putting children first in the Encinitas Union School District. Thank you for visiting.

Nathan Short, MBA, BSCE
Director, Information Technology

Department Directory: 760.944.4300
Information Technology

Department Extensions

If you are staff in need of assistance, please utilize our Web Help Desk (http://helpdesk.eusd.net) for all service related issues.

Name Position Extension Email
Nathan Short Director, Information Technology 1170 nathan.short@eusd.net
Sergio Martinez​ Senior Systems Analyst 1172 sergio.martinez@eusd.net
Matthew Schroeder Technology Support Technician 1171 matthew.schroeder@eusd.net
Kerri Kantor Technology Support Technician 1174 kerri.kantor@eusd.net
Josh Dreazy Information Systems Technician 1177 josh.dreazy@eusd.net
​Chris Cossio Information Systems Technician 1178 christian.cossio@eusd.net
Kristin Steinike Information Systems Technician 1173 kristin.steinike@eusd.net